North Central Section of the AUA, Inc. North Central Section of the AUA, Inc.


 <  1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8  > 

NCS Awards 2017 – Scottsdale, Arizona

posted: February 5, 2018

Traveling Fellowship Award

Kevin Ginsburg, MD — Wayne State University

Thirlby Award

No winner this year

John D. Silbar Award

Adam Calaway, MD — Indiana University

Best Bizarre and Interesting Case

Michael F. Atwell
“Treatment of Prostate Cancer in Male-Assigned 46 XX Patient with Untreated Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia”

Poster Winners

Bladder and Prostate Malignant Poster Session

Clinical Winner:
Presented By: Mohamed Hendawi
“Impact of Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy Prior to Radical Cystectomy for Bladder Cancer: A Retrospective Institution Experience

Outcomes Research, Health Policy and Patient Safety Poster Session

Clinical Winner:
Presented By: Matthew Grimes, MD
“What Happens to Patients After Formalin Instillation for Refractory Hematuria?”

Basic Science Winner:
Presented By: Daniel Smith, MD
“The Reporting Quality of Diagnostic Accuracy Studies in the Urologic Literature.”

Adrenal/Kidney/Ureter — Malignant/Benign Poster Session

Clinical Winner — Tie:

Presented By: Tariq Khemees, MD
“Comparison of Oncologic Outcomes After Open Versus Robotic-Assisted Radical Nephroureterectomy for Upper Tract Urothelial Carcinoma”

Presented By: Nikhil Gupta, BS
“The Effect of Partial Nephrectomy On Blood Pressure in Patients With Solitary Kidneys”

Endourology/Stone Disease/Laparoscopy/Robotics Poster Session

Clinical Winner:
Presented By: Victor Chen
“Association of Race and Margin Status Among Patients Undergoing Robotic Partial Nephrectomy for T1 Renal Cell Carcinoma: Results From A Population-Based Cohort”

Penis/Urethra/Testis/Scrotum — Benign & Pediatric Urology Poster Session

Clinical Winner:
Presented By: John Francis, MD
“Trends and Outcomes of Immediate Retroperitoneal Lymph Node Dissection for Stage 1a Non-Seminomatous Germ Cell Tumors”

Male & Couple Infertility/Sexual Dysfunction Poster Session

Clinical Winner:
Presented By: Raevti Bole, MD, MA
“How Important Is Pain? A Description of the Natural History of Penile Pain in Men With Peyronie’s Disease”

Basic Science Winner:
Presented By: Brian Van Le, MD
“Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of Magnetic Induction Activation of Shape Memory Penile Prosthesis Through Animal Tissue”

Video Session

Presented by: Edward Capoccia, MD
“Robotic Assisted Laparoscopic Transvesical Repair of Rectovesical Fistula Following Open Radical Prostatectomy: Use of Allograft Human Dermis Interposition”

NCS/AACU Health Policy Young Investigator Award

Andrew Sun, MD — Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Resident Bowl — Winning Team

1st Place Team:
Derek Lomas, MD, PharmD — Mayo Clinic
Min Jun, DO — Detroit Medical Center
Kevin Ginsburg, MD — Wayne State University
Abhinav Khanna, MD — Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Golf Winners

1st Place Team — Dennis Pessis, MD, Mark Dabagia, MD, FACS, Jay Hollander, MD, Peter Knapp, MD
Closest to the Pin — Howard Usitalo, MD
Longest drive — Mark Dabagia, MD, FACS
Longest Putt — Gary Faerber, MD

 <  1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8  >